Inquiry Team

Chair to the Inquiry

The panel will be Chaired by Brett Lockhart QC. Mr Lockhart was called to the Bar of Northern Ireland in 1982 and to the Inner Bar in 2006. He is a commercial lawyer with extensive experience of working for leading Northern Ireland companies and public bodies. In recent years he has been increasingly involved in conducting commercial mediation and arbitration and is a designated arbitrator for the Motor Insurers Bureau. He has been actively involved in education and is a former Chairman of Governors at Methodist College Belfast.

Inquiry Panel Member

Professor Hugo Mascie-Taylor has significant experience in clinical governance. He is an internationally recognised expert with a distinguished background having worked in the NHS as a Clinical Director, Medical Director and a Director of Commissioning. He also previously served as medical director of the health service regulatory body Monitor (now NHS Improvement) and as Special Admistrator resolving the problems of Mid Stafford. He is currently executive medical director of the healthcare practice of Ernst Young.

Inquiry Panel Members
Mr Brett Lockhart QC & Professor Mascie-Taylor at the launch of the Inquiry Questionnaire

Solicitor to the Inquiry

Mark Scott will act as Solicitor to the Inquiry. Mr Scott qualified as a solicitor in 2010 and as a solicitor advocate in 2014. He has gained considerable experience in recent years working in the areas of clinical negligence, governance and regulatory law and health and social care law.

Secretary to the Inquiry

Geraldine Quinn is a qualified auditor and has been a member of the Northern Ireland Civil Service since 1987. She has served in a wide range of posts across three different departments.

Contact details

Independent Neurology Inquiry
106 University Street
Telephone number: 028 9025 1133